California Boater Card
January 1, 2020
As of January 1, 2020, a California Boater Card is required for all persons 35 years of age and younger.
If you operate any type of motorized vessel on California waterways (including powered sailboats/paddlecraft), you will be required to pass an approved boating safety examination and carry a lifetime California Boater Card.
The card is issued by the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways (DBW). The lifetime card fee is $10. The lost card replacement fee is $5.
The list of boating safety course providers approved by the State of California and the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators can be found on this page: http://californiaboatercard.com/courses/